The summer of nerdbiskit-ing comes to an end!

Well folks, looks like the summer of nerdbiskit-ing has come to an end. What a busy few months it has been, with so many amazing shows, and my busiest year yet with Etsy sales and custom orders! I was so lucky to have been able to take 5 months off of work to freelance and craft full time – not everyone gets to do that. And it was absolutely wonderful! But alas, it is time to head back to the working world and I have found myself a new design job. Timing seems to have worked out perfectly, since shows are winding down now until Spring (there will be a few Christmas shows in December, but nothing major.) And I’ll have plenty of time for custom orders and restocking over the winter months. It’ll be good to try something new – I’m nervous and excited… (and I start tomorrow, so wish me luck!)

My last post was right before FanExpo, so I guess I should start with that. Perhaps I am getting too old for these 4 day conventions, but it was absolutely exhausting! Tons of fun, of course, but I was totally wiped by the end. At least there were lots of exciting moments, caffeine, plenty of visitors and pals and awkward over the table hugs to keep me going. I was pretty disappointed that I didn’t get to meet Gillian Anderson – I waited for her for almost an hour! Luckily my friend Kelsey dressed up as Scully for me on Sunday, which was even better than the real deal, because she even wore a MUSTACHE!

This was my table set up – smallest one of the year! It was jam packed, but I made it work best I could:

And here is me, doing what I do best (standing awkwardly behind my table):

Luckily my lovely friend Heather from Needlings was in the same table grouping, so I was able to visit with her during any down time – look at the two of us, so pattern-y and colourful 🙂 She was so awesome and watched my booth when I needed a pee break! I am so grateful for her existence! ❤

After FanExpo, I had only 2 weeks to prepare for the next big show: Locke Street Festival in Hamilton. This was my third year participating, and I look forward to it every time. It started off a little shaky, with a forecast for 100% rain all day – but by noon the skies cleared, the people came out, and everything turned out to be amazing! I am so glad I set up in the rain that morning and stuck it out – well worth it!

I didn’t get too many photos because it was so busy, but here is my booth in the morning before the rush – only set up at half capacity because of the rain. I was completely cleaned out of mustaches by the end of the day!!!

And then next up, with less than a week to prepare, was Supercrawl – another Hamilton event, which keeps getting bigger and more awesome each year. I had no idea what I was in for, and was totally unprepared for the 70,000 people who passed by on Friday night and Saturday. I can honestly say, this was by far the busiest and best show of 2012 – perfect way to end the show season! I had to shut down the “make-your-own-button” station after Friday night, and was sold out most items by early Saturday evening. It got pretty insane! AND I LOVED EVERY MINUTE!

On Friday night I was lucky enough to have a helper taking care of regular sales while I worked the button station – look at her, expertly folding those tees! Thank you, Miss Tea!

And Saturday, I had a whole posse helping me out. Miss Tea even came back for MORE, bless her soul.

Of course every one of them left by the time it got super crazy on Saturday evening. Haha! I still love them all. And no worries, my parents came by later to save the day, with plenty of snacks, and helped me stick it out until midnight!

Man, I love doing shows.

Since then, I’ve been ordering lots of supplies, re-stocking my empty displays, and taking a bit of a break until the holiday shows start up. Oh, I also took a famjam trip over to BC – it was nice to have a quick getaway before I head back to the working world! And also to rest my arms and wrists, which have been so overworked with all these crazy shows. Nice to have a bit of a break 🙂

Anyway, I will post pictures from BC in my next blog.

Hope all you Canadian friends had a fantastic Thanksgiving weekend!
xo

Lisa

Leave a Reply

