Summer of nerdbiskit part 2

What a busy summer of nerdbiskit-ing this has been! I’m busier than ever before, even without having a 9-5 job on top of the craft bizz. There have been crafts shows, weddings, birthday celebrations, freelance design work, custom button orders and wedding portrait pillows, crafternoons with Needlings, beach days, and plenty of adventures in between. It’s been pretty awesome, and it’s not over yet! The biggest event of the summer is coming up in just a few days: FanExpo Canada! It’s my biggest and most exciting show of the year, so I’ve been working hard to prepare for it of course. I will be in Artist’s Alley, booth A89. (Check my facebook page for a map.) I’m so excited to launch a brand new item at the show… should I tell you what it is? OK! You might already know this, but I’ve been working on a calendar called “HOT CHICKS WITH MUSTACHES.” And that’s exactly what it is. 13 (12 months plus cover girl) pretty girls rockin’ a nerdbiskit ‘stache! I’m so excited to start selling them, and am so appreciative of all the girls who submitted their awesome ‘stache photos. It will be available online in my Etsy shop in September, so mark your calendars… (before you replace them with this new one for 2013 of course!) Want a sneak peak?!?!? Ok fine….

I’m pretty excited about it! I can’t wait to hear people’s reactions at FanExpo, I think it’s a pretty silly idea! πŸ™‚ I hope all the hard work pays off!

I’ve had a couple pretty awesome shows since I last blogged, including Atomic Lollipop! APOP was quite an adventure! I’d never done it before but had been hearing about it for a while and decided to give it a shot. The coolest part was definitely the ferris wheel, AND MEETING PJ PHIL! I heard that Saturday night was pretty radical with a NON STOP PARTY! (I unfortunately did not get to experience the party aspect of it, but I did go on the ferris wheel, and I did meet a lot of really cool people.)

This was my setup:

AND THIS IS ME WITH PJ PHIL!!!!

I also did my very first on-site mustache commission for a hedgehog named Marty:

After APOP, there was Art Crawl – just a few weeks ago on James Street North in Hamilton, which was awesome as usual. I think that is one of my most favourite shows of all, even though it’s only a few hours. I met some new pals at the latest one, they offered to work for me in exchange for only mustaches! They helped me out with set up and de-furring my table cover with a lint brush. I was pretty grateful for that since otherwise I would have been doing set up alone!

Look how happy I am. I just love doing shows πŸ™‚

Since then I’ve been hard at work with custom orders and restocking for FanExpo! Here’s a few of the things I’ve been working on.

My wedding portrait pillows seem to be quite a hit this year, I’m excited to work on a few more after FanExpo!

One of my favourite things about the summer of nerdbiskit has been weekly crafternoons with Heather of Needlings. Here are a few shots of us hard at work!

Look at us go! I’ve been sewing so hard, I actually got “tennis elbow” from overusing my arms! Ridiculous! I promise to rest after FanExpo. I also have 2 more big shows on deck after that, Locke Street Festival and Supercrawl, both in Hamilton. I’m so excited! So much to do though! Ahhh!

Well, I better get back to it. There are mustaches to be sewn!

Oh and in case you didn’t hear, my cat Greta had 15 minutes of fame as an internet meme. She was posted on the Taco Bell Facebook page and reddit and apparently got over 15,000 notes on tumblr! WOW!

So I made myself a shirt to celebrate.

You can’t spell CATTOY without T-A-C-O!

Ok that is all! Have a good week! See you at FanExpo! πŸ˜€
xoxo Lisa

Leave a comment