Guest Blogger: Freelance Illlustrator & Motion Designer, Miss Hyein Lee

Freelance Illustrator & Motion Designer, Hyein Lee

Head shot by Andy Zeng, 2012

Hyein Lee. What can I say? She is one of those people that are so interesting, cool, and unique that you are nervous to even approach them. She is extremely fashionable, has an amazing personality – and also has incredible talent. She is one of those people that everyone just adores, and after she leaves a room, people turn to each other and say, THAT GIRL IS SO FREAKIN’ COOL. I have always been in awe of her and her work. It’s cute how she answers the “what’s unique about you?” question below so modestly, since she’s pretty much the most unique person I have ever met! (Well, I’ve met some “unique” in a weird or bad way type people, but she’s a unique in an AWESOME way kind of person.) Anyway, her responses to my interview questions are short and sweet and perfect and leave you wanting more – sort of exactly like her! She’s not really that short I guess. Maybe I’m just really tall…. Hopefully she will invite me to tea again soon so I can have the chance to sit near her, maybe I will soak up some of her awesomeness! Enjoy! xoxox

nerdbiskit: So, what’s the story? Who are you, and what do you do? How did it all start? Short bio!

Hyein: My name is Hyein. I grew up in Korea, now live in Toronto. I’m a freelance illustrator and motion designer. I am also an educator. I used to be an engineer many years ago. Back then, I thought if I get hit by a truck tomorrow, I’d regret not pursuing art, so I went back to school for illustration and just finished my master’s. I’m very poor compared to my engineering friends, but I’m happy. A lot of my dreams have been coming true these days, things like speaking at Pictoplasma festival in Berlin (watch it here). I’m fortunate for all the opportunities I get, and I feel like I don’t deserve them.

nerdbiskit: Why do you do it?

HyeinI have to. I feel miserable without working. I think I’m a bit of a workaholic.


nerdbiskit: What’s unique about you and what you do? What sets you apart from the pack?

Hyein: I am still working on being unique. It is very hard because an idea is universal and I get influenced by other art that’s out there. I have to work even harder to be set apart from the pack.


nerdbiskit: What/who is your inspiration?

HyeinTravelling is a huge inspiration for me. I grow as an artist everytime I go abroad. I’ve just been to Berlin last month for an exhibition, and came back freshly inspired.

Reading also is very important. I often get ideas from books and short stories I read.

It sounds sad, but deadlines are also an inspiration. Whenever I have no idea what to do, if there is a deadline looming over my head, something comes out.

Lastly, my artist friends inspire me a lot too.

nerdbiskit: What are some of your favourite things? (To do, to eat, to think about, etc.)

HyeinLet’s list it.
Food – Ethiopian food is one of my favourites. M & B Yummy and Nazareth are really great. I also love Green’s Vegetarian in China town.
Drinks – London Fog and Red Velvet tea soy latte. I like hanging out at Cafe Pamenar.
Desserts – Delight chocolatier makes this awesome dairy free chocolate coconut icecream. Heavenly.
Reading – Science fiction! I love books like Engine Summer, Spin, Road, Oryx and Crake and Ender’s Game.
Shopping – A Korean website, www.buyanne.co.kr has beautiful clothes. I look at their daily updates. They don’t ship overseas nor accept foreign credit cards, so I can’t buy anything. It’s good because I don’t spend money.
Sitting – I like sitting around at Trinity Bellwoods Park and Christie Pits.
Moving – Ping pong and swimming at salt water pool.

nerdbiskit: How do you know Lisa Bell of nerdbiskit? Do you think her mustache obsession is a little ridiculous?

HyeinI met Lisa at college. She had such original style and I always wanted to be friends with her. I was too shy to talk to her. She’s was such a cool punky girl back then. Now she’s a hot pin-up looking lady and I want to be like her. 😀

Mustache obsession is a little ridiculous indeed! But Lisa can trim my mustachio any day.

nerdbiskit: That about wraps it up! Definitely make sure you check out some of Hyein’s videos, they are AMAZING. Beyond amazing…. just watch them, you’ll see. Trust me.

Leave a Reply

