GUEST BLOGGER: Card Designer – Rovena Tey

Card Designer, Rovena Tey

I am excited to share this lovely lady’s work with you as my guest blogger this week! Rovena makes fantastic handmade cards out of pretty papers, and I am glad that my internet stalking and admiration did not initially scare her off (she’ll explain below.) Since she is a local crafty lady, I hope to see her at one of my Ladies Crafternoons – coming up soon! Hopefully she can share some of her fantastic ideas on how to further fill my life with mustachey-goodness. Oh, and don’t forget to LIKE her Facebook page… you’ll be entered into a giveaway!) Enjoy! 🙂

nerdbiskit: So, what’s the story? Who are you, and what do you do? How did it all start? Short bio!

Rovena: I am Rovena, the owner of Handmades by Rovena – a web shop of stylish cards for smart and savvy people, madebyrovena.com. I love being creative and paper crafting is my passion. All the magic happens at my home studio in Milton, Ontario, Canada. My style can be described as simple and modern, with a retro flair but no matter what, I always try to merge design and colour in perfect harmony. Besides cards, I also make gift tags, bookmarks, and pictures as well as invitations by custom order.

I am so honoured that Lisa has invited me to be a guest blogger for nerdbiskit and this is my story.

It all started when I graduated from university and I was clearing out old textbooks. Then I saw it, a red report cover and some shiny wrapping paper, which I recycled into a holiday greeting card using just a pen, a knife, and some glue.

In the meantime, I had started working a 9 to 5 day job in an office that required lots of reading, writing, and some nerdy stuff that had something to do with the reason why I had gone to university in the first place. You see, I needed to pay bills. But I still made cards because I loved it! When I got married, I made my own wedding invitations.

After 7 years of making cards and many more tools later, I had the opportunity in 2010 to showcase my paper creations at the McMaster Museum of Art and sell my work at a few local craft fairs. And, they were a BIG hit! I was finally ready to share my creativity with the rest of the world. In July 2011, my web shop madebyrovena.com was launched in the midst of my maternity leave.

Yes, I am also a mother, to the best boy in the world. And in case you are wondering, I still work at this 9 to 5 day job, now that my maternity leave is over. But I dream that maybe one day, it will just be Handmades by Rovena.

SHOP: www.madebyrovena.com/shop

BLOG: www.madebyrovena.com

LIKE: www.facebook.com/handmades.rovena
(Psst… if I reach 100 likes on Facebook, I’m going to celebrate with a giveaway!)

TWEET: @HandmadesRovena twitter.com/HandmadesRovena

INSTAGRAM: @handmadesrovena

nerdbiskit: What/who is your inspiration?

Rovena: These days, I find myself inspired by everything around me, from places I go to nice things I stumble upon. I often have no idea when a new idea is going to come but when it does come, it energizes me to the core. Some ideas come charging at me so fast that I have to run and find paper so that I can scribble down notes and sketches before they become lost forever. At other times, it’s like finishing a jig saw puzzle where bits and pieces come together slowly over time – these types of ideas never make any sense in the beginning but they always do at the end.

nerdbiskit: What’s unique about you and what you do? What sets you apart from the pack?

Rovena: No two humans are alike, and I am unique because I am Rovena. What you might not know about me is that I never went to school for the Arts, so everything that I know about being creative originates from inside me. When I work, I am extremely detail oriented and I never rush, always taking my time with each creative piece at my hands. I am fortunate that I have the ability to simplify the most complicated mess and make it beautiful, which is reflected in the cards that I make.


nerdbiskit: What are some of your favourite things? (To do, to eat, to think about, etc.)

Rovena: My name is Rovena and I am a chocoholic. I’m also nuts for noodles, eating them that is. I’m not trying to sound like a clone of Lisa but I love polka dots and dresses too. My favourite accessory is the purse. My favourite flower is the orchid. My favourite number is 3. My favourite colour right now is turquoise (it may change with the mood). My favourite artist is Van Gogh. My favourite subject is Anthropology. I’m always in wanderlust. But most of all, I love getting lost in my world as I dream up ideas for my cards and bring them to life with my hands.


nerdbiskit: How do you know Lisa Bell of nerdbiskit? Do you think her mustache obsession is a little ridiculous?

Rovena: A few months ago, I noticed this girl following me everywhere from Twitter to Instagram. So I said hello! And that’s how I met Lisa. Then I started following her and learned that she is a fellow crafter who makes nice nerdy things. My favourite thing that she makes are her tote bags, particularly in the designs of Yoda, Leia, and Ninja.

Actually I think her mustache obsession is not ridiculous enough. She could be living in a house shaped like a mustache, she could be eating her meals out of a mustache-shaped plate or she could be sleeping on a mustache-shaped pillow. Unless she secretly does these things already!

One day soon, I hope I can meet Lisa in person, either at a craft fair or at crafternoon, a ladies crafting session that she hosts.


nerdbiskit: That about wraps it up! Thanks so much for your time Rovena, and I am looking forward to meeting you & seeing your fabulous cards in person, too! At the next crafternoon I hope 🙂
xoxo Lisa

Leave a Reply

