GUEST BLOGGER: Portrait Artist & Illustrator – Melissa Stewart

Portrait Artist & Illustrator, Melissa Stewart

This is one talented lady! I’m so excited to hear that she’s started her own portrait business, and I will be seeing her at an upcoming market in June –  First Sunday Stroll! It’s always fantastic to see a familiar face around at shows 🙂 We share a love of red wine and dads with mustaches! One day, probably not too far away, I will be hitting her up for baby shower gifts when my gal pals start poppin’ them out!!! Her work is beautiful 🙂 ENJOY!

nerdbiskit: So, what’s the story? Who are you, and what do you do? How did it all start? Short bio!

Melissa: My name is Melissa (a.k.a. Missy) and I have a loving husband, Jason and an adorable 1 year old who we like to call Betsy. I am a stay-at-home mom as well as a stay-at-home portrait artist. My business is called Missy’s Portraits and I specialize in painting portraits of babies, children, families and pets. I started my business when I was on maternity leave. I knew I didn’t want to go back to my full time job – I didn’t want to miss seeing my little girl grow up. I had always wanted to be an artist and earn a living doing it – and painting is my true passion. So I pursued my dream and launched Missy’s Portraits with much support from my loving family.

All images copyright Melissa Stewart, 2012. All rights reserved. Unauthorized use of any materials is strictly prohibited.

nerdbiskit: What’s unique about you and what you do? What sets you apart from the pack?

Melissa: I find that there aren’t really a lot of artists out there who specialize in portraits of children which is what I think my business is unique. Children are so interesting to paint – so much innocence in their eyes, so happy about all the little things in life. Looking at a painting of a child just makes you smile. There is also a uniqueness in the technique I use when I paint. I paint with oils on masonite board, not canvas – but I before I begin the portrait, I put thick layers of acrylic paint on the masonite to give the surface a texture that emulates a canvas. Some people can’t tell the difference.

nerdbiskit: What/who is your inspiration?

Melissa: My inspiration is my daughter. The first portrait I did after launching Missy’s Portraits was one of my little Betsy at 9 weeks old.

nerdbiskit: What are some of your favourite things? (To do, to eat, to think about, etc.)

Melissa: My favourite things (in order starting with my most favourite) are:

  • Jason and Betsy
  • My Mom, Dad and brother Mike
  • Painting
  • Playing the Piano – I am also a piano teacher
  • Singing in the shower
  • Drinking red wine
  • All you can eat sushi
  • Reading a good book

nerdbiskit: How do you know Lisa Bell of nerdbiskit? Do you think her mustache obsession is a little ridiculous?

Melissa: I know Lisa from Sheridan – we’re both artsy types. She became close friends with my roommate and friend Lindsay which is when I got to know her a bit better. I remember a fun time with Lisa – it was at Lindsay’s birthday party. Lisa bought Lindsay the craziest birthday gifts – including “inappropriate” straws, which were my favourite. I love that Lisa is the “mustache lady.” She’s a very unique person, I mean who else is there in this world who loves mustaches as much as Lisa does? My dad has a mustache (just a side note).

nerdbiskit: That about wraps it up! Gift ideas, anyone? Baby showers coming up perhaps? Get in touch with Melissa or see more of her work via the links below:

Leave a Reply

