Oh my BLOG, it’s a guest post by Freelance Illustrator, Vicki Nerino!

Freelance Illustrator & Pervert, Miss Vicki Nerino

What to say about this woman… where do I even start?! I remember when I first laid eyes on Vicki during my first year of college – her wild coif blowing in the breeze as she rushed down the hallway to catch her bus – I thought to myself, I will drink, laugh and tell inappropriate jokes with that woman one day. Not long after, we bonded over 90’s nu-metal, being born in Thunder Bay, David Duchovny, potty humor, making people laugh (or at least each other), and of course art and illustration! There have been many good times shared with this woman since then, so naturally I am excited to feature her and her incredible work on my blog. As hilarious and vile as her illustrations and comics can be, they are also extremely creative, original and even BEAUTIFUL! I’m sure she will hate to hear that, but yes, they are oozing of mad, gooey talent… among many other kinds of fluids…

So, what’s the skinny?

Vicki: My name is Vicki Nerino. I was born and raised in the deep snowbanks of North-Western Ontario. When I wasn’t fighting bears and riding elk, I was painting boobies on cave walls with charcoal and sap. I moved to the big city of Toronto, and when I finally recovered from the culture shock and shook the birch bark out of my rats nest of a hair-do, I attended Sheridan College and got myself a degree in Illustration with the nerdbiskit Queen herself. Since then, I draw wieners and boobies and butts for myself and others. I’ve had my work in galleries, newspapers, magazines, on t-shirts, pinned to backpacks, stuck on urinals, and posted all over the internet. Not bad for a Thunder Bay troglodyte, am I right?

So like, how come and stuff?

Vicki: I am totally hooked on making people laugh andor tugging their collars awkwardly and backing away slowly. It makes my day when I get to watch people giggle while reading my terrible comics, and I love sharing them with all of my friends. Lately, I’ve been finding comics the most rewarding. All the friends I have made in the community are totes amazing, and it really makes it all worth while. Well, besides drawing more wieners than ever before.

What’s you’re dealio? Why do you think you’re so special, huh? Eff!

Vicki: Well jeebs! I just like to have fun! Whether it’s a freelance gig or a short comic, I really like to put my own dirty spin on things. If I’m not enjoying it, or laughing at it when it’s done, then golly jeez, it’s not really worth it.

What/who is your inspiration?

Vicki: There are tons of people and mediums that I draw inspiration from. I love Ralph Steadman, Harmony Korine, Werner Herzog, Michael Deforge, Nicolas Presl, Johnny Ryan, Wes Anderson, and all kinds of other talented folk. I really encourage googling some of these names if you don’t know them. Thems be some cool dudes. And I can’t forget about all the AMAZING ladies in comics who inspire me every day to keep on it. Super chicks like Kate Beaton, Jess Fink, Emily Carroll, Meredith Gran, amongst many MANY others.

You like stuff, don’t you?

Vicki: Of course I do! I like jokes, David Duchovny, Dylan McKay, upper lip sweat, fish tacos, dates (the kind that you eat, and the kind that you go on), cheap ballpoint pens, a cup of hot tea with lemon, loud farts, and pie.

So like, what’s your history with that dang Lisa Bell woman?

Vicki: As I mentioned earlier, Lisa and I met in those crazy college days. We went to parties and drank in parking lots and made more boner jokes than anyone who ever existed before. I think her mustachio obsession is very becoming, I think she looks best with a little upper lip coifiture. Speaking of which, there was once a time when Lisa would cut my hair for me and wear my rats nest clippings as real human hair mustaches. Perhaps it was a sign of the wonderful furry things to come…

That about wraps it up! Learn more about this talented wiener drawer via the links below!

xoxoxo Lisa

Leave a Reply

