Needlings

Heather Saunders of Needlings as her very first Wednesday Guest Blogger!

This Wednesday, I would like to welcome Miss Heather Saunders of Needlings! I’ve known Heather for just a few years but we quickly hit it off and became good crafty pals. She probably doesn’t know exactly how much of an inspiration she is to me, so I might have just spilled the beans ❤ Now on to her fabulous-ness!

nerdbiskit: So, what’s the story? Who are you, and what do you do? How did it all start? Short bio!

Needlings: Hi! My name is Heather Saunders and I am a plush artist/toy designer and the creator of Needlings! I make toys and other little goodies and have since 2007 when I started my little Etsy shop after making a little felt toy as a gift after many years of unfocused sewing and crafting growing up. After four and a half years of sewing and selling Needlings, I have turned it in to my full-time job with Needlings being carried in over a dozen stores in the US and Canada, in my own Etsy shop, and shows in the Hamilton/Toronto area.

nerdbiskit: Why do you do it?

Needlings: Because it’s the best! Seriously, I’m living the dream and I can’t imagine working as hard on anything else. It’s all worth it and I just hope to keep going and growing in to the future!

nerdbiskit: What’s unique about you and what you do? What sets you apart from the pack?

Needlings: (Getting deep Lisa!) Hm, I think early on I saw the need to stick to a look with my work that would be recognizable – something unique to myself. I also just make what I love so this isn’t a big struggle. I always loved owls way back to a tiny owl pin my mom had in the 80s and grade 2 construction paper owl crafts after learning about owl pellets!

I think having a distinct line and good photographs of my products have helped me get attention from retailers. I also strongly believe that everyone has to find their own path and do what feels right. I also work as much as my hands and brain will let me. 🙂

nerdbiskit: What/who is your inspiration?

Needlings: I am inspired by lots of things. Often times just the continued goal of working for myself lights a fire so to speak. I was never as motivated as when I started to see a future full-time business for myself. I never thought I would end up doing what I love so many hours of the day. 🙂

Other creative people inspire me every day. Not even just the ones making a full-time go at it but the ones who make time in their lives to make things they love or create something special because the inspiration strikes them.

Otherwise, my mom and all that sappy junk. (Just kidding, seriously, my mom too!)

*note from nerdbiskit: this wonderful mom also has her own amazing Etsy shop, featuring beautifully knit cowls – I have one in purple and it rocks!)

nerdbiskit: What are some of your favourite things? (To do, to eat, to think about, etc.)

Needlings: Handmade toys and other goodies, handmade shops, tiny galleries, good movies, cats, tea, travel, family, friends, hugs.

To do: SEW, design/doodle, knit, spend time with the people (and kitties) I love, write, take pictures, read, drink tea with sweets, window shop, hug.

nerdbiskit: How do you know Lisa Bell of nerdbiskit? Do you think her mustache obsession is a little ridiculous? Do you have any cool stories you’d like to share?

Needlings: I met Lisa doing craft shows and comic conventions and yes, she is completely ridiculous all around…
😀
And I love it! One of my favourite Lisa craft show memories is when we did Locke Street Festival together in Hamilton and attracted a stray cat with her cat toys, who proceeded to climb all over our tables while we laughed in disbelief. Cat ladies through and through! Really lots of fun craft show memories of standing behind tables and chatting!

nerdbiskit: That about wraps it up! Learn more about this fantastic lady via the links below!

Needlings.ca

SHOP Needlings Etsy Shop

FOLLOW Needlings on Twitter

Needlings on Tumblr

LIKE Needlings on Facebook

Hope you enjoyed!

xoxoxox Lisa

6 Comments »

  1. Anne said

    Oh, I like your guest blogger segment. You should definitely do another! My favorite questions were what were her inspiration and how she felt about you 🙂

    • nerdbiskit said

      Thanks Anne! I hope to keep these coming – I have about a dozen on deck so far, so I will post once or twice a week, depending on how often they roll in! 😉

  2. Anne said

    I’m glad to hear that! Are you going to release on certain days?

  3. nerdbiskit said

    Think I’m going to commit to every Wednesday, and sometimes twice a week on Fridays as well! 🙂

  4. Crissy said

    Love this!

    It would be amazing to have a full time job of that. ;.;

    • nerdbiskit said

      I KNOW!!! I wish I could do nerdbiskit full time and still pay the bills! One day I hope 😀

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

